Oil Massage Tips for Summertime

by Summer Menkee, CEIM

“Being touched and caressed, being massaged, is food for the infant. Food as necessary as minerals, vitamins, and proteins.” ~ Dr. Frederick Leboyer

Summertime is almost here.  Massaging your baby outdoors or in can be a great way to relax and bond amidst the heat.  Besides your loving touch, you will need the right oil to massage your baby.  Organic is preferred, cold-pressed and virgin, without the use of heat or harsh chemicals.  An edible food or plant based oil is a must.  Babies are always putting their little fingers in mouth, and ours too for that matter.  There is also the consideration of using a “warming” or “cooling” oil.  In the practice of Ayurveda certain oils have a warming effect on the skin, such as mustard seed, sesame and olive oils.  While others have a cooling effect, such as coconut and almond oils.  These are the most recommended food based oils for Infant Massage, depending on the region or culture.  After a healthy oil massage, a relaxing bath is recommended.  Warm water actually opens the pores, helping the oil seep deeper into baby’s skin.  On a particularly warm day you can massage your baby for ten to fifteen minutes outdoors in the sun (partial shade is suggested), followed by a dip in the backyard kiddie pool.  Fun!

Contrary to popular belief, or certain corporate advertising, lotions and soaps are not good for baby skin.  Especially since most soaps and lotions are mineral oil based.  Mineral oils are mass produced with the use of heat and harsh chemicals, mainly devoid of all the healthy nutrients, vitamins and fatty acids that food/plant based oils have.  Mineral oils often have added scents or preservatives to make it last longer.  Although the addition of rose or lavender may make a massage oil seem more appealing to you, it is not the best oil for your baby.  Remember, whatever you put on your baby’s skin should be safe for them to ingest (edible).  Aromatherapy is not the aim of Infant Massage.  You want your baby to get used to and recognize your scent during massage, and they probably already love your smell as much as you love theirs!  Babies are very sensual beings, in that they experience each new stimuli through their five senses.  If you cover up your smell with a scented oil, candle or incense, part of the bonding process is lost in translation.

My son, Sage, was born last July in the heat of Los Angeles.  When my mother-in-law from Northern India taught me how to massage my him she used homemade mustard oil she brought with her overseas from the motherland.  Once that ran out I started using organic coconut oil, which I liked at first during the hot weather (cooling effect); however, I did not like how it coagulated (got hard) in the jar.  Each time I dipped my fingers in, it felt like cakey lard I had to then melt in my hand before massaging onto Sage’s soft skin.  I tried olive oil as well, but it felt too common to use for massage.  I wanted something more exotic, like the oil my mother-in-law had brought.  (Ironically, mustard oil is the common cooking and massage oil of Northern India, like our olive oil.  Ha!)  So, I searched and searched for an organic mustard seed oil until I finally found a USDA certified distributor in Princeton, New Jersey- Pure Indian Foods.  I love the way their organic mustard seed oil glides smoothly onto the skin, and the richness and texture is unparalleled.  I have not used sesame oil, nor am I all that interested, since it is not used in India, the birthplace of baby massage.  I am, however, about to try almond oil this summer, as an alternate cooling oil.

All Infant Massage literature I, which I’ve read through my International Association of Infant Massage training/certification and personal research, all points to India as the original inspiration and source.  Like yoga, infant massage has made its way to the West, and will one day take hold as an essential baby care practice with far reaching physical and spiritual benefits.  Adults have embraced yoga as a health regime to align the body, mind and soul.  Massage is also widely appreciated, but more as luxury or something that is needed when we’re in pain.  Baby massage is not meant to be done on a “special occasion” or only for “special needs” babies.   Yes, it does help calm gas and colic, is a great stress reliever, helps with weight gain, immune boosting, and many other physical benefits.  It is also relaxing to the mind and uplifting to the spirit, an outlet for your love to pour out to your baby through your hands.  Your nurturing touch.  One does not take their baby to an “Infant Massage Therapist.”  Parents are meant to be the experts on their own babies, learning how to read their infant’s “cues” and satisfy their needs.  Through parental touch the baby relaxes, hearing the oil swishing in their parent’s hands, making eye contact and recognizing their mother’s (or father’s) scent, sweet voice and breath.  It’s more like a yoga routine I practice consistently with my baby, rather than a special treat.  MWhen massage and chiropractic services are widely accepted by the medical community as essential health care services that we shouldn’t have to fight insurance to cover, then maybe baby massage will be embraced in the same regard in this country.

As a parent, you get to choose to massage your baby.  And, they get to choose to let you.  You also have choices as to how you set up your ritual space at home.  I like to sit in on the floor with my back supported by pillows against the base of my couch.  My legs stretched out in front of me.  My baby relaxes on a luxurious, waterproof, anti-bacterial Indian baby massage blanket where he gets to have “diaper free” time.  A small bowl with organic mustard seed oil, a cloth (or paper towels) to catch any spills, a toy for baby to play with, a small pillow for his head to rest on, some light music we both enjoy, dim lights and an electric candle for ambiance.  These elements all help me enjoy our massage time, making me feel more relaxed.  If I am relaxed, my baby senses this and he also gets permission to relax.  Infant massage only takes 10-15 minutes, plus maybe 5 minutes to set up your space.  About the same as bath time, yes?  I encourage you to enjoy those summer days and nights with your little one.  May it be a time of joyful bliss and bonding for your family!

summer & sage is the only U.S. distributor of luxurious, authentic Indian Baby Massage Blankets, paired with Organic Mustard Seed Oil in our Sacred Baby Massage Kits available online at our website: www.summerandsage.net   

Check out our upcoming workshops and private services for parents.